Through the Needle’s Eye: 21st EGA traveling exhibit

Through the Needle’s Eye

January 14 – March 30, 2019

Opening reception Thursday, January 17, 2019, 6-8pm

 

The Stevens County Historical Society will once again host Through the Needle’s Eye, a nationally traveling exhibit created by the Embroiderer’s Guild of America (EGA). Through the Needle’s Eye exhibit is a display of traditional and contemporary needlework. The mission of the Embroiderers’ Guild is to inspire passion for the needle arts through education and the celebration of our heritage.

Also watch for an exhibit of local fiber arts from our museum’s collection, a contemporary exhibit by fiber artists at Prairie Art and Gifts (PRCA) in Morris, a jumble sale, more classes, and open stitching sessions!  Check back for an updated calendar of events!

Calendar of Events

January 2019
Monday, Jan. 14: EGA opens at SCHS
Thursday, Jan. 17, 6-8pm: EGA Opening Reception
Saturdays, Jan. 19 and 26: Amy’s Ribbons, a 2-part embroidery class by national EGA teacher Barbi McPhee

February 2019
Saturday, Feb. 2: Hardanger class taught by Clarice Dieter
Feb. 4-16: Prince Cherrywood Challenge Quilt Exhibit on display
Saturday, Feb. 9, 2pm: Reception and presentation by owner of Cherrywood Fabrics, Karla Voorhees Overland
Saturday, Feb. 16: Embellished wool appliqué needlecase class taught by Jean Back
Saturday, Feb. 23: Embroidered MN Bookmark class taught by Carole Johnson and Susan Gilbert

March 2019
Saturday, Mar. 2: Spinning class and demonstration by Alisande Allaben
Monday, Mar. 4: Historic Fiber Arts Exhibit from museum collection begins
Saturday, Mar. 9, 10am-noon and 1-3pm: Needle felted pin cushion class taught by Jenny Nellis
Saturday, Mar. 16: Bus Trip to St. Cloud area
Saturday, Mar. 23: Back-up date for Bus Trip to St. Cloud area
Saturday, Mar. 30: Last day to view EGA in Morris

Related links:

Embroiderer’s Guild of America: https://egausa.org/

Cherrywood Challenge: http://cherrywoodfabrics.bigcartel.com/challenges

PRCA: http://www.prairierenaissance.org/



Comments are closed.